London (2)

Last Wednesday I strained an upper arm muscle at the day job – nothing serious nor long lasting (I hope; it’s almost completely better now) but so painful temporarily that I wore a sling for a couple of days and even my usual touch typing was impossible. Consequently novel draft was postponed and I was left fiddling with ideas and pictures – anything I could do with a mouse alone. Hence the London sights here, as I hadn’t blogged for far too long.

Finished the draft and basic edit at last yesterday – hurrah! – so now for something completely different while I let my immediate critics digest it (handy having two lit-mad teenagers in the house when writing young adult fiction) and give myself a bit of distance from it. Most of it is already quite polished but the ending has been rewritten and extended.

This morning I have written something topical for the next ConFab Cabaret in Malvern (on Tuesday 24th September). The idea had been knocking around in the back of my mind for a few weeks and it’s fast, furious and rude and with a chorus – more audience participation.

And now I can play with pictures again, so here are a few more London shots:

“Earth has not anything to show more fair”

 

IMG_5371a_resize

IMG_5133a_resize

It was full moon. Back-lit, the shard looks like something out of LOTR:

IMG_5135a_resize

Older buildings are utterly surrounded by the new steel and glass temples to finance.

IMG_5121a_resize

IMG_4966b_resize

IMG_5185a_resize

IMG_5440a_resize

Here’s that curved glass monster that’s melted road, paintwork on nearby shops and even someone’s Jag.

IMG_5000a_resize

Talking of Jags, where better to showcase a new model than Docklands?

 

IMG_5207a_resize

IMG_5205a_resize

 

This entry was posted in photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to London (2)

  1. I so wish I could join you at ConFab this time, but sadly, no. It’s the AGM of Worcester Writers’ Circle so I feel I must be there. Hoping to see you at the next one. Trust your arm is much better now xx

  2. Myfanwy Fox says:

    Thanks, Polly. Do hope you can make it to the November show.
    And arm is completely recovered :)
    x

Leave a Reply

