Trayvon Martin Pantoum

Language warning: use of the f-word. (If you object to it in this – really fucking serious – context, do feel free to watch Tim Minchin here – just as serious but he uses it a bit more to make his point. And complain to him, not me, as he’s big and tough. And swears more.)

Today’s NoPoWriMo is my first attempt at a pantoum – and wow, I love the form. However, this is very much a first – hurried – draft. I started with the opening line (surprise, surprise – but I usually find odd lines then piece things from that) and I think it’s maybe too “clever-clever” for the poem and does the message a disservice.

I should probably have a didacticism (is that a real word?) warning, too. But I like message-lit (as oppose to message-lite) – and I assume that everyone who rolls their eyes and says “FFS! Fox is off on one AGAIN,” will have given up on my blog ages ago. (Art for art’s sake may be sublime but I prefer something that means something – must be something to do with my provincial working class origins, or just because I am a Philistine.)

 

Trayvon Martin RIP

Seminal tragedy in Seminole County:
one trigger-happy vigilante shoots
a black kid – there ought to be a bounty
in some racist mother-fuckers’ books.

One trigger-happy vigilante shoots
in self-defence – the kid attacked me first.
In some racist mother-fuckers’ books
black skin’s enough – there’s nothing worse.

In self-defence – the kid attacked me first –
I stood my ground, pulled out my gun
.
Black skin’s enough – there’s nothing worse
drugs, whores and robbing; he’d just begun.

I stood my ground, pulled out my gun
not taking aggro from a criminal –
drugs, whores and robbing; he’d just begun;
I knew, even though the signals were subliminal.

Not taking aggro from a criminal;
followed him – he shouldn’t be round here;
I knew, even though the signals were subliminal
his hoodie made that absolutely clear.

Followed him – he shouldn’t be round here:
a black kid – there ought to be a bounty
.
It wasn’t his hoodie that cost that kid so dear
in that seminal tragedy in Seminole County.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

