Sleazy Squeezing at Smoke and Mirrors

Caitlin and Dee with The Box of Destiny at the – saved! – Youth Centre

Malvern Youth Centre last night for the Smoke and Mirrors anthology launch. I read a new poem not in the book – I only finished it after work last night.

It’s based on Hilaire Belloc’s poem, Tarantella which starts, Do you remember an inn, Miranda? / Do you remember an inn? /… / And the fleas that tease / in the high Pyrenees …

It begins “I don’t remember a thing, Rebekah / I don’t remember a thing” …

 

The Very Grim Brothers

It was a very warm event on a very cold night. Very supportive, very enthusiastic audience; very lively, very enthusiastic poets. Great gig. Long may Smoke and Mirrors thrive.

This entry was posted in event, photos, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleazy Squeezing at Smoke and Mirrors

  1. garylongden says:

    I really enjoyed your performance of the above, Myfanwy,and fondly post my response:

    Rebekah Brooks

    I like bad girls,
    I like them rough and tough,
    I like their temptress looks,
    And I have to now confess to you
    That I am in love with Rebekah Brooks

    Rebekah will stop at nothing to get whatever she wants
    Her life she measured out in front page screaming fonts
    I know that she would love, to get down and dirty with me
    With no prudish hang ups about illegality.

    She’s mates with the superstars ,like Madonna and Sarah Brown
    And if she gets pissed off, she can close newspapers down
    Those svelte power suits that long red flaming hair
    She’s always at the centre of things even if she wasn’t there
    And although things sadly , did not always go as planned
    She had the boys on the Parliamentary committee
    Eating out of her hand

    Her coquettish smile leaves me trembling
    I love her cute dissembling,
    When she has such trouble remembering
    When criminality was at large
    Even though she was in charge.

    You would have thought that her reporters
    Would have lined up for a smacking
    When their editor had detected a spot of covert hacking
    But she didn’t

    And all that she can say
    Is she was away on holiday,
    That these events cause much dismay,
    In an, “I’ve been caught out sort of way”
    No worries for her about the law, I would have thought
    For Rebekah has already considered that, and the law’s been bought.

    Forget Dave, Nick and Ed if, for you, power is the key
    For Rebekah is much more important than that,
    She runs the slumber party
    Which is a bit more influential than those political ones, I fear
    Whose hidden manifesto was to have her most nibble-able of ears
    Or maybe more,

    They gazed at her ,and their self seeking libido erupted
    Queuing up to have their principles corrupted
    Her beauty and good looks are a source of constant wonder
    But there is one thing you should never forget,
    And that is
    Rebekah has your number

  2. Pingback: Happy Valley rehersals | Fox Tales

Leave a Reply

