Imagining a summer’s heights

I’m planning a long blog about psychology, freebies and the nature of art. Maybe. Or maybe my brain will explode. In which case my family can sell our splatted kitchen wall as a love child out of Jackson Pollock by Damien Hurst.

Meanwhile, here’s a joyful little poem that proves I don’t always write dark stuff. It’s appeared on a calendar and in a MWC anthology.

 

Solstice

Come, climb dizzy, heated summer heights,
while eagles soar through lapis skies;
sun-drenched days melt dream-drowned nights;
secret breaths waft wings of butterflies.

Sweet zenith pleasures promise bliss
as bees sip dewy, petalled deeps;
cascade quenched in plunge pool’s kiss;
fern-dappled dells where Magic sleeps.

 

<!–

Come, climb dizzy, heated summer heights,

while eagles soar through lapis skies;

sun-drenched days melt dream-drowned nights;

secret breaths waft wings of butterflies.

Sweet zenith pleasures promise bliss

as bees sip dewy, petalled deeps;

cascade quenched in plunge pool’s kiss;

fern-dappled dells where Magic sleeps.

This entry was posted in photos, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Imagining a summer’s heights

  1. Trix says:

    “dream-drowned nights” – I love that :-) And the photo! Bliss…

  2. Ron says:

    Lovely selections. That trails looks to be the exit from Hobbiton:) Don’t let your brain explode. I’ve done that and finding all the parts is hard enough but reassembling them is a real bitch.

    • Myfanwy Fox says:

      Ron, I am indeed remarkably Hobbit-like, except for the hairy feet. The Malverns are very popular with walkers, equestrians and bikers so the trails are well-used. Great Malvern and its villages (West Malvern, Malvern Link, Malvern Wells, Little Malvern – there’s a bit of a theme going here) sprawl at one end of the hills’ ridge and Ledbury sits pituresquely at the other.

      Brain hasn’t exploded as yet, more fizzled and gone “phutt” like faulty electronics. I just wish I didn’t always feel the need to attempt to put every possible POV on a subject of complexity – comes from writing scientific papers where one would try to anticipate every argument and counter-arguement before they arise: every possibility should be open to consideration.

      • Ron says:

        I feel your pain, I do exactly the same thing in my head, I’m just too lazy to put it on paper, so I tend to keep my opinion to myself most often.

        I guess I have a new place to see should I ever make my way to your Isle. Not likely, but in case, I need the itinerary anyway lol.

Leave a Reply

