The ethereal kitchen of the less than spotless mind

My very first blog post: new girl arrives at the party – with first date nerves. Who should I talk to? What should I wear? Is my skirt tucked into my knickers? If I start with a lively voice, will people notice if I slur or fall asleep mid-sentence? Where’s the kitchen around here?

How to introduce myself?

I’m poet, novelist, short fiction writer and chatty type. I’m also a mother, part time charity shop manager and ex-scientist.

Perhaps it’s easiest to start the way I hope to continue and let some writing speak for me – it’s not shy, like I am.

Here’s a link to two poems of mine on Ink, Sweat and Tears last week.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The ethereal kitchen of the less than spotless mind

  1. Jenny says:

    Looking forward to reading more, x

  2. Ron says:

    Can one even BE an ex scientist? Isn’t it like the mafia, once you’re in you can never leave?

  3. Trixie says:

    I’ve already learned something new about you – I didn’t know you were an ex-scientist!

    Love the poems, particularly “Old Etonian Recipe” (last line = ah!! :-))

  4. Myfanwy Fox says:

    Thanks, Jenny.

    Ron, it’s like dementia: changes the shape of the mind, the way one looks at the world, yes.

    Trixie, I’ve also worked as an audit accountant but I keep quiet about that: too sad. I stuck it 18 months with the carrot of “go anywhere in the world and be well-paid”. As a recent graduate in Thatcher’s era it seemed good security but … *shudder*.

  5. Fiona Robyn says:

    Congrats on the new blog!

  6. Helen Ivory says:

    Welcome to the bloggy world! It’s strange talking when you don’t know who is listening isn’t it?!

  7. Pingback: Hatching the New Year | Fox Tales

Leave a Reply

